SACE (South Australian Certificate of Education) is the formal school qualification students must complete in South Australia, usually over two years.

At St Francis de Sales College, we have extended the SACE to be available to students in Year 10. The three-year SACE from Year 10 has enabled students to develop an extensive knowledge used in collaboration with higher order thinking skills applying the attributes that the SACE programs require for successful achievement. Our students gain the advantage of being able to undertake many different subjects that enable them to make a more informed choice regarding their future. It empowers them to engage with challenges in their own study that develops their awareness of personal responsibility in their own learning.

The capabilities developed in SACE units – learning, communication, personal development, citizenship and work – means that students can form an awareness of how these lifelong skills are part of their learning in all subject areas.

These correspond with the capabilities of the Australian Curriculum:

  • literacy
  • numeracy
  • information and communication technology competence
  • critical and creative thinking
  • personal and social competence
  • ethical behaviour
  • intercultural understanding.

The SACE diagram provides an overview of the stages that our students can use to achieve their South Australian Certificate of Education using both Stage 1 and Stage 2 subjects. The diagram can be found on the SACE website.

SACE Credits

Please click on the SACE website below to see how SACE credits work.

SACE website


SATAC website

Download SATAC Tertiary Entrance Booklet